Change happens…and yes, it sucks.

Hello my lovely tea-bags,

Today I felt like writing about a topic that I really dislike, but yet it happens anyw — change. Indeed, change can be for better or for worse. For procrastinating perfectionists, such as myself, change does not come quietly. In fact, change usually comes barreling down at 90 mph right through the front door. Yes, change happens unexpectedly and it happens whether we would like it to or not.

When I was four years old, my parents decided to move to a bigger house. The change was seemingly for the better, but I had to leave behind all of the friends I had made in the neighborhood. Nevertheless, life moved on and I made new friends. 

When I was 15 years old, I was starting my sophomore year of high school and my favorite teachers decided to transfer to another high school or pursue a different career. I was sad to hear the new, but nevertheless, new teachers came to the school. 

When I was 16 years old, my original high school was revamped from an independent learning institute to a school that focused on technological aspects of learning, so it became a virtual learning school. I did not like the new concept, but nevertheless, I graduated. 

When I was 17 years old, I started my driver’s training lessons. My parents hired a driving instructor for me, but in California parents are required to put in training hours with their children in addition to their driving lessons with a professional. My first few days were incredibly stressful, even though I was practicing in a parking lot at 7 in the morning. At the end of each day, my dad would ask if I was ready to go onto the “big streets” and I would always say “No.” Then one day he just told me to go for it, because he realized if it were left up to me, I would always say no. So nevertheless, I started driving. 

When I was 19 years old, I got my first real job in retail. I loved everything about going to work, except for the occasional rude customer who would come in and yell at my coworkers and I for no apparent reason other than to get express their anger. Nevertheless, I stayed.

When I was 20 years old, my manager transferred to a different store and we got a new manager. The new manager is slightly on edge all of the time and easily gets mad at other people for her own mistakes. She lashes out at customers and her employees, especially so when she is feeling stressed. 

(This is where I am at currently in life and I have not figured out my next step yet. However, based on what I experienced previously, I know everything will work out eventually). 

Tea-Tip #2: The world does not solely revolve around us, change happens whether you are ready for it or not. It is not going to wait idly by until we tell them we are ready for it. So just roll with the punches for now, things will get better. 

Love you guys,

Tea G. Sea

Leave a Reply

