Almost 21…still clueless about life

Dear Teabags,

I am going to turn 21 in two days (June 24th) and I am still completely clueless about life. I have never considered myself much of a risk taker and as you all know, without risks there really is not much progress.

For the past two years I have been working minimum wage at a retail store. I am ready to move on, but I do not even know where to start looking. The retail store I currently work at is my first job ever and I still lack a lot of experience. My schedule is not incredibly flexible so it is hard to find another company that is willing to let me work weekends only with very particular hours.

I have been actively saving up money for the future, but there is always one thing or another that comes to drain my savings. Whether I have to make car payments or pay for tuition, textbooks, etc., money comes and goes. It just seems that it goes a lot faster than it comes.

Lately I have been thinking about putting my money into an investment account, most likely a Roth IRA. However, I do not even know where to start. How do I choose which company I go with? How do I choose which stocks to invest in? When do I sell?

Tea Leaf: At 21, I still have a lot of questions about life, so do not worry about having everything figured out before you graduate high school.

Thanks for reading,

Tea G. Sea

 

Leave a Reply

